Errorandonee!! 4-23-14 MLCB Post #36

Trail, 4-16 14
Errorandonee- any long journey over 5 miles undertaken by bicycle, which does not achieve the desired result of the trip. This comes from the term Errandonee, using a bicycle to do errands. Which is related to Coffeeneuring, and so on. All of these tongue-in-cheek phrases have to do with use of the bicycle. My Errorandonee was part of an attempt to deliver an old-time coffee grinder to my church, a 17 mile round trip that I realized may not turn out, as I realized it was Holy Week, and the office may be closed.
But I got to see the local trail and some of the town getting ready for spring. Early leaves are starting to come out on the trees, and a few daffodils are starting to bloom, as are some crocus. Other bulbs and plants are beginning to emerge from the ground still covered with last autumn’s leaves. I saw some folks flying a kite in the 25 mile an hour winds we have had lately, with 35 mile per hour gusts. I made good time as I was riding downhill into the wind, and returning uphill with a tailwind.
Kite flyers
The Cannondale got a new chain, as the old one it came with was just a little stretched, and I put too much effort into its’ meager metals the other day and nearly broke it. Large rider on marshy soil with strong headwinds will test any chain, I suppose. I’m still switching saddles around to find a good one, and may have to go to the extreme of buying new. I know, that seems like crazy talk, but my stock of old foam saddles are pretty much used up, except for a period Avocet I have reserved for the Voyageur. I’ll let you know how that one comes out…
Emerson Street Bridge

Emerson Street Hill
The trail has a rather abrupt hill rising near Emerson Street, with a big fancy bridge over the street for the Constitution Trail. The hill is always a challenge, as are the approaches to the tunnel under Washington Street, where I found a nearly new tarp with some oil on it. I rolled it up and put it back where I found it, and when I went by the Hatchery, there were some fellows patching the asphalt. I asked them if they had lost a tarp, and they thought they may, in fact, have. On my return, it had been reclaimed.
AB Hatchery
I got to the church, and found it closed, so I took some photos of my bicycle there, and found the saddle-du-jour had some sort of metal in it that had poked through the covering, so I placed a business card, folded, into the hole it was beginning to make. The shape is just right(quite narrow) but age has taken its toll on this good old saddle. Once I had made the necessary repairs, I drank some vitamin water I had brought with me, and turned for home.H 600 and Parish Hall
StMatthews and Cannondale H 600
On my return trip, runners were starting to come out in force, as were a few hardy cyclists on this 55 degree day. I had no mechanical trouble with the Cannondale today; the new chain seems to be doing a fine job. I am now in the place I want to be to start putting more miles in, in preparation for the Spring Metric, a 100 kilometer ride that may be coupled with the trip to and from for a Century Ride. I may not be up to that this year, but we will see.
The trekking bars are working out well with this larger frame, and give me a variety of hand positions on the bars, as well as the width I need for handlebars on the bike. You can tell if the handlebars are wide enough by seeing if they correspond to the width of the place where your shoulder joint bones are. This ensures that your arms have room to allow your chest to expand naturally with effort. Proper and unobstructed breathing is greatly advantageous for the cyclist.
I hope that your spring is progressing enough to allow you to get out and enjoy cycling. Enjoy your ride!

One thought on “Errorandonee!! 4-23-14 MLCB Post #36”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

People Powered

Living simply in an over-complicated world

Cyclingeezer

Still musings on two wheels

The Simplicity of Vintage Cycles

Vintage Bicycles Done Proper :: Corvallis, Oregon

biggs682

Cycling and Bikes for sale

A Cycling Journey

North Pennine cycling...

Vintage Bicycle Blog

Vintage and veteran bicycles of quality and how to preserve them for future generations, with a particular interest in the French 'constructeurs'. Please note all images are my copyright unless otherwise stated, and may only be used with my express permission.

Bikepacking on a budget

Camping and cycling without breaking the bank

a new recyclist

the observations of an easy cyclist.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.