Getting ready for Spring, or, What The Groundhog Saw. MLCB Post #25 1-26-14

Getting ready for spring is always how I view this time of year, because winter often seems endless by now. Indeed, this winter in the Midwest has been a long one so far. The weather could moderate right now, and the winter would still be regarded as a long winter. But that doesn’t mean that we, as cyclists, do not have things to do. Many are the concerns for the coming riding season, and the time is drawing nearer when we will all be outdoors riding again.
I have been preparing by gathering a few bikes for spare parts, as well as refurbishment and sale once the weather turns warmer. Also, I’m organizing my tools, touring equipment like panniers and stoves and clothing, as well as camera concerns and gps technology. Each polar express-vortex-cold spell that hits us gets a little less extreme. In recognition of this, I have been working on cadence over endurance and power on the indoor trainer, as I always find myself struggling with cadence early in the season. I have also been doing some weight training, as that is helpful for balance and strength issues related to the core muscles of the upper body.
I also am getting a handle on a new area of cycling for me. I am getting more into mountain biking, taking more advantage of the trails near me. We will see a bit more of the hillier and woodsy parts of Central Illinois in coming posts. Trying to educate myself in mountain biking has been interesting. Different skills and abilities apply to this sort of cycling. Still, when I tried the mountain bike I got the other day, I enjoyed it greatly. It certainly puts some youth back in my cycling experience.
A new year means time to try some new things. New experiences and new or different equipment keep the cycling spirit fresh within each of us. We are all subject to the winter blues, but planning for the delights of spring can put a little sunshine in an otherwise stormy day. We may still be a few weeks away from riding here in the Central Illinois Area, but we can always dream, plan and prepare for better cycling times ahead. Support your local groundhog!
2014 1-26

One thought on “Getting ready for Spring, or, What The Groundhog Saw. MLCB Post #25 1-26-14”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

People Powered

Living simply in an over-complicated world

Cyclingeezer

Still musings on two wheels

The Simplicity of Vintage Cycles

Vintage Bicycles Done Proper :: Corvallis, Oregon

biggs682

Cycling and Bikes for sale

A Cycling Journey

North Pennine cycling...

Vintage Bicycle Blog

Vintage and veteran bicycles of quality and how to preserve them for future generations, with a particular interest in the French 'constructeurs'. Please note all images are my copyright unless otherwise stated, and may only be used with my express permission.

Bikepacking on a budget

Camping and cycling without breaking the bank

a new recyclist

the observations of an easy cyclist.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.