Okay, It Can All be Spring and Nice Again-MLCB Post #471, March 19, 2020

I’m hoping to get some riding going this week. As I have few other outlets left to me by the virus outbreak. All our restaurants and bars and pubs and cinemas are closed, with good reason, I believe. But the bikes are ready to go. I am ordinarily a solitary rider, and have been practicing social distancing for better than a month now. My job has removed overtime from my schedule. The bike co-op has been closed for the emergency as well. All of these things will reopen in time. But this is a good time to make the most of the situation, and that leaves me with cycling.

Which is really a good place for me to be, rather than not getting exercise. I have never been a great group rider. I am not fast, I am older, so I usually get dropped from group rides. I don’t mind. Those who want to make a ride into a hammerfest may do so. I am about riding for enjoyment. And keeping the elegant old bikes on the road. I have not run across many interesting finds lately, except for a Trek /Cycleops Fluid II trainer I found at a local Goodwill. But this may well be a great time for cycling, as I have few other opportunities for exercise and entertainment, and spring is progressing.

It may not seem like much progress, but at least the temperatures are warming a little, and we seem to have much of the snowfall past us. There are lots of routes and bicycles and equipment to test out during these temperate and torrid months. I am not seeing any reason this should, in my case, be affected by the virus outbreak. I am laying low socially, but I plan to range a bit farther afield geographically. I also have plans to research a route a bit north of me, when I have to travel this week. I can then see if sufficient progress has been made on this trail to be worth a trip.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

People Powered

Living simply in an over-complicated world

Cyclingeezer

Still musings on two wheels

The Simplicity of Vintage Cycles

Vintage Bicycles Done Proper :: Corvallis, Oregon

biggs682

Cycling and Bikes for sale

A Cycling Journey

North Pennine cycling...

Vintage Bicycle Blog

Vintage and veteran bicycles of quality and how to preserve them for future generations, with a particular interest in the French 'constructeurs'. Please note all images are my copyright unless otherwise stated, and may only be used with my express permission.

Bikepacking on a budget

Camping and cycling without breaking the bank

a new recyclist

the observations of an easy cyclist.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.