Raleigh on the Road(Finally) MLCB Post #288, June 3, 2018

I finally, after giving up on the BMX roller cam brakes, was able to get the Raleigh in a situation where it could stop reliably. I like it when my touring bikes can stop using either brake, just in case one brake fails for some unforeseen reason. I prefer redundancy where brakes are concerned. I got some rather odd Lee Chi brakes at the bike co-op, kind of like a scissor action. They were apparently quite common on BMX bikes from the 80’s. Inexpensive bikes quite often hosted these.

They are good, adjustable, and reliable. The fit the bike and the purpose for which they have been added, which is stopping a laden touring bike under load. That was something I had issues with the Schwinn Impact. I dropped that frame off at the co-op today, and I was surprised at the weight differential between the Impact and the Raleigh. At least I can get the Raleigh stopped more capably. It seems to have a lot of daily mile potential stored up in that frame. It is light and comfortable. I’m glad I stuck with it through the problems it presented.

I was able to get the Raleigh out for some road testing before the rains came along Saturday. It was quite humid, and the storms to our west reformed in my area just a bit after I finished my ride. In this part of the country, at this time of year, we have pop up thunderstorms that can come seemingly from nowhere and rain buckets with little or no warning. But that’s just the sort of thing I modified this bicycle to be able to handle. This time of year, I may travel with a tarp or small tent on longer rides just to be able to sit some of this out. I generally get off the road if visibility becomes a problem, because if I can’t be seen, I’m in trouble.

It was not raining during my ride, but the wet air mass made things damp just the same. The bike handles well, and tracks nicely. It has an extraordinarily low bottom bracket, which gives it some stability above and beyond a regular mountain bike. It’s long wheelbase also adds to stability, yet it has enough maneuverability to handle tight corners and some off road tracks. We may have to test this bikepothesis on some varied road surfaces. After all, that’s part of the fun.

2 thoughts on “Raleigh on the Road(Finally) MLCB Post #288, June 3, 2018”

  1. Those roller cams are NOT easy to get correctly set up on first attempt. It took me a over an hour on the first caliper to figure them out on my ’87 High Sierra: https://simplicityvintagecycles.com/2017/01/02/1987-schwinn-high-sierra/
    But, I do like them and once set up, they stop just as well as cantilevers do. But, now that I’ve had over a year to use the High Sierra as a commuter, both calipers are getting to the point where they need to be adjusted. I’m purposefully ignoring the need because I am worried I’ve forgotten the proper way to set them up. Ha!

    1. Still committed to the roller cams, but maybe not on this bicycle. Almost any brake, other than the hub brake originally designed, and the Lee Chi, seem to give me problems with the bike as currently arranged.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

People Powered

Living simply in an over-complicated world

Cyclingeezer

Still musings on two wheels

The Simplicity of Vintage Cycles

Vintage Bicycles Done Proper :: Corvallis, Oregon

biggs682

Cycling and Bikes for sale

A Cycling Journey

North Pennine cycling...

Vintage Bicycle Blog

Vintage and veteran bicycles of quality and how to preserve them for future generations, with a particular interest in the French 'constructeurs'. Please note all images are my copyright unless otherwise stated, and may only be used with my express permission.

Bikepacking on a budget

Camping and cycling without breaking the bank

a new recyclist

the observations of an easy cyclist.

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.